Abbot Gregory Duerr, OSB Celebrates Fourth Anniversary of Abbatial Election

We would like to congratulate and send our greetings to Abbot Gregory Duerr, OSB on his fourth year as the elected father of the hilltop community. He is the eleventh and current abbot of Mount Angel Abbey.

May God bless him for years of service and strengthen him for years to come!

Read his reflection on his abbatial motto on A Word from the Abbot blog:

The Abbot giving his abbatial address on February 26, 2010

Election in the monastery refectory

Election in the monastery refectory

Past Abbots:

Deceased Abbots

Thomas Aq. Meienhofer, OSB (Reigned 1904-1910)

Placidus Fuerst, OSB (Reigned 1910-1921)

Adelhelm Odermatt, OSB (Named Titular Abbot 1916)

Bernard Murphy, OSB (Reigned 1921-1934)

Thomas Aquinas Meier, OSB (Reigned 1934-1950)

Damian Jentges, OSB (Reigned 1950-1974)

Anselm Galvin, OSB (Reigned 1974-1980)

Bonaventure Zerr, OSB (Reigned 1980-1988)

Resigned Abbots

Peter Eberle, OSB (Reigned 1988-1997)

Joseph Wood, OSB (Reigned 1997-2001)

Nathan Zodrow, OSB (Reigned 2001-2009)


Thank you for reading today.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s